Dialer Pro and Enterprise users can place Dialer Voice group calls in the Doximity app or on the Doximity website.
Group calls support up to 3 total participants, including the clinician who starts the call.
NOTE:
Dialer puts your first call on hold while you connect with the second participant or interpreter.
- If you leave the call, the remaining participants will stay connected.
IMPORTANT:
When VoIP is disabled on the Doximity mobile app, your selected Dialer Caller ID will only be displayed to the first person you call.
Any additional participant or interpreter you call to add to the group will see your personal cell phone number.
iOS
How to Access Group Calling on iOS
Start by calling your patient with Doximity Dialer.
Once you are connected with your patient, you can add another participant from the active call screen.
Tap More
Select Add Person to add a second participant or Add Interpreter to add an interpreter.
Available Group Calling Options on iOS
You can add another person to a Dialer Voice call in one of two ways:
Option 1: Add an Interpreter
To add an interpreter, select one of your saved interpreter numbers or tap + Add Interpreter to enter and save a new interpreter number.
-
After selecting or entering the interpreter’s number, tap the call button.
Your first call will be placed on hold while you connect with the interpreter.
Once the interpreter answers, tap merge to connect everyone.
Option 2: Add a Second Participant
To add a second participant (not an interpreter), select the contacts icon in the top right corner to add a number from your contacts or enter the participant’s phone number using the dial pad.
-
After entering the number, tap the green call button.
Your first call will be placed on hold while you connect with the second participant.
Once the second participant answers, tap merge to connect everyone.
After the calls are merged, your patient and the second participant will be able to hear each other.
Android
How to Access Group Calling on Android
Start by calling your patient with Doximity Dialer.
Once you are connected with your patient, you can add another participant from the active call screen.
Tap Person to add a second participant or Interpreter to add an interpreter.
Available Group Calling Options on Android
You can add another person to a Dialer Voice call in one of two ways:
Option 1: Add an Interpreter
To add an interpreter, select one of your saved interpreter numbers or tap Dial an Interpreter to enter a new interpreter number.
-
After selecting or entering the interpreter’s number, tap the call button.
Your first call will be placed on hold while you connect with the interpreter.
Once the interpreter answers, tap Merge Calls to connect everyone.
Option 2: Add a Second Participant
To add a second participant (not an interpreter), select the contacts icon in the top left of the dial pad to add a number from your contacts or enter the participant’s phone number using the dial pad.
-
After entering the number, tap the green call button.
Your first call will be placed on hold while you connect with the second participant.
Once the second participant answers, tap Merge Calls to connect everyone.
After the calls are merged, your patient and the second participant will be able to hear each other.
Doximity Website
How to Start a Group Call on the Doximity Website
- Start a Dialer Voice call with the first participant by entering their phone number and clicking the green Voice icon.
- Once connected, click the Add button next to the Keypad button.
The first participant will be placed on hold while you connect with the second participant.
While on hold, the first participant will not be able to hear you.
- From the Add Participant screen, you can either:
- Enter or paste the second participant’s phone number, or
- Select one of your saved interpreter numbers.
- After entering the phone number, click the blue Call icon.
Using the Keypad
You can access the keypad while adding the second participant if you need to navigate a phone menu or enter an extension.
NOTE: If you are calling someone who requires an extension, you must dial the extension before merging the calls. Extensions cannot be dialed after the calls have been merged.
Merging the Calls
When you are ready to connect both participants, click Merge Calls.
Once the calls are merged, you will see an indication that you are in a group call, and both participants will be able to hear each other.
Once all 3 participants are connected, the Add button will be grayed out because no additional participants can be added to the call.
During the call, you can mute or unmute your audio, and you can click the End button to conclude the call at any time.
If one participant leaves the group call, you will remain connected to the other participant.